PDA

View Full Version : plumbing a pole

weasle
05-04-2010, 07:55 PM
I need some opinions. I am an apprentice and one of my journeyman was plumbing a pole the other day. He plumbed it and I was running the truck and I saw the pole was not straight at all. I asked him about it and he told me that tghe way he was plumbing it was the way to do it and the way that I do it is wrong. He says that you only worry about the top four foot of the pole because that is where you stand if you have to climb it. Everything I have been taught in apprentice class and on the job by other lineman tells me that is wrong. I am looking for some kind of publication that tells how to plumb a pole and the reason it is like that. The way I was taught was top over bottom or bottom over top depending on who is telling you. I was also told it was not just for the straightness but also for the support and the weight on the pole. How do I tell someone who has been doing this for twenty plus years that it aint right. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you

Pootnaigle
05-04-2010, 08:04 PM
Sounds like you have an ignoramus for a J man. The correct way and only way that I am aware of is to place the top of the pole directly over the butt of the pole. Usually this requires some one one 2 quarters looking at it.One other method is to use a plumb bob and align it perfectly with the centerline of the pole.

Lineman North Florida
05-04-2010, 08:10 PM
I to was always taught top over bottom, except on deadend poles and angle poles that need to be raked prior to sagging the wire, have seen guys try to straighten deadend poles that were not properly raked prior to the wire sagging and all they wound up with was a bowed pole. I think you are going to find out that you are right in your thinking and remember that there is alot of advice out there and not all of it is good. Good luck.

heelwinch
05-04-2010, 08:59 PM